Posted in Beauty, Beauty Blogger, Blogger, Clean Beauty, Cruelty Free, Fragrance, Lifestyle, Organic, Perfume

clean fragrance ft skylar.

The very first thing I ever bought with my very first pay cheque at my very first job (a cashier at Canadian Tire if you were wondering) was a bottle of perfume; it was the Britney Spears Curious perfume – the one in the blue diamond looking bottle. I have been obsessed with perfume since I was a little girl and I have tried so many over the years that I couldn’t even start to list them here. Perfume has always been something that links me to a memory or a certain moment in time – I could smell a scent I used to wear or that a friend or family member used to wear and be transported right back to a specific moment in my life. For example, I still have a bottle of the perfume my mom used to wear and although I don’t use it, from time to time I will take it out and smell it…and for that moment I feel like she is right there next to me (for those of you who may not know, I lost my mom to breast cancer when I was 7 years old).

I have been working hard over the last year or so to make some clean beauty swaps within my collection. Doing this was a personal choice for me as it is for everyone, I would never tell anyone that they had to make these swaps or judge them for not – I am just sharing my journey. I swapped my skincare, body care, some makeup, and house-hold cleaning products but for whatever reason, the thought never occurred to me to swap my fragrances for a cleaner alternative. I’ll be honest with you, I have a few perfumes that are likely not considered “clean” that I will probably continue to purchase because they have become signatures for me and I truly love them BUT I am super happy to have discovered a line of clean fragrances that I can also work into my beauty routine.

Enter Skylar – all Skylar products are non-toxic, hypoallergenic, and vegan/cruelty-free; they also do not contain parabens or phthalates. Many of Skylar’s customers found their way to them because they have battled allergies, migraines, and even long-term illnesses such as breast cancer (this one is obviously near and dear to my heart) that prevented the opportunity to wear and enjoy perfume. Skylar prides themselves on being a clean beauty brand that consumers can trust and I’d have to say in my experience this has proven to be true. I myself am very “scent sensitive” and often find myself getting headaches from certain scents; this actually happens to me a lot due to certain ingredients or notes in perfume, body care products, candles, air fresheners – you name it.

I will be totally transparent and let you know that the perfumes I have from Skylar were gifted to me in exchange for an honest review (the only way I do things) but I have seen their fragrances at Sephora for years now and have been hearing more and more about the brand as the clean beauty movement grows bigger so they have definitely been on my radar.

So the fragrances that I chose are “Arrow” (described as spicy, warm, and seductive), “Isle” (beachy, dewy, and fresh), and then they also sent over their January 2020 scent club pick, “Fresh Vibes” (energizing, crisp, and bold). My favourite by far of the three scents is Arrow and I would describe it exactly how they did, I absolutely love it – it’s warm without being heavy or overpowering and I would consider it a great date night pick! For reference, some of my favourite fragrances over the years have been Givenchy Hot Couture, YSL Black Opium, Guerlain Mon Geurlain, all of the Nina Ricci apples – so I really like warm, sweet, slightly spicy scents. No wonder I gravitated towards Arrow!

Something to note with these fragrances is that they don’t last quite as long as some of my other traditional fragrances, but they do still have great lasting power! I find that Arrow lasts the longest of the three that I have tried, but from reviews I’ve read the lasting power varies from scent to scent. Honestly, it’s a trade off I’m okay with due to the face that they have 100% clean ingredients! I can feel safe about applying and reapplying these beautiful perfumes.

I think that one of the coolest things about Skylar (aside from their products being clean) is that they have a monthly scent club that you can join yourself or gift to someone special in your life. It is $20 (usd) a month and each month you will receive a brand-new roller ball size perfume on your doorstep. They are al currently offering a special price on their scent duo which is two full size perfumes of your choice for $100 (usd) instead of the regular duo price which is $156 (usd). I should also mention that not only can you wear Skylar scents on their own, but you can also mix, match, and layer them up to create a totally unique fragrance.

You can visit www.skylar.com to check out all of their scents and shop away!

Do you have a signature scent? I think perfume is so personal and I always love to hear what everyone considers to be their signature.

Thanks so much for reading along today beauties, I hope you enjoyed this blog post!

Have the best day,

✨Britt

Author:

I've been obsessed with all things beauty related since I was a little girl trying on my Mom's lipstick & blush. As I've grown up I've purchased and tested out more products than I can count and have learned a lot along the way. This blog is where I will share what I've learned, loved, and left along my beauty journey; I hope you'll follow along!